Making memorable images

Black pool


Black Pool

I’ve done it at last. This is my very first IR image. These images don’t just come out of the camera this way.

First, I had to send the camera body off to get it modified to shoot IR, and I finally got the camera body returned to me last Saturday. Yesterday, I shot my first images. When I saw the images, I knew then what everyone had told me – that’s when the work begins, because what you get straight from the camera isn’t usable. Some images look like they’ve been shot on Mars.

So begins my learning curve, adjusting, modifying, experimenting with Photoshop. I shot more today, and have been playing with those images, trying to make them into what I want. I may share them, but I don’t know. It’s obvious that I’m learning! 🙂 But that’s what it’s all about, right? IR or not.

4 responses

  1. As you can see – water can work for you with IR – especially if there are some clouds around to give a bit of definition to the surface. What I might have done with this is because the wall is kicking out so much IR I would have done a brightness layer and then mask out the wall – that way you could pump up the plants/trees and not blow out the white of the wall – Great first go at it! Good work 🙂

    June 17, 2014 at 1:05 PM

    • Thanks so much, Robert! I appreciate your feedback more than you could ever know.

      June 17, 2014 at 1:48 PM

      • My pleasure – but I do realize that it is YOUR image, not mine – the suggestions are only that. There is no right or wrong, only what you want to say with each picture 🙂

        June 17, 2014 at 1:54 PM

      • I know, but I still appreciate your input!

        June 17, 2014 at 1:57 PM