Making memorable images

Into your hands …


Into your hands final small

I was feeling very dark. After watching a few episodes of the series “True Detective,” a very “dark” series if ever there was one, on Netflix yesterday, I thought to myself, I should shoot some cemetery photos in IR. It went with the blackness and turmoil that drew me into the story.

Today, as I left the house to run some errands, I grabbed my IR camera in case the clouds were just right over the cemetery that is near where I live. I was lucky, there were some good clouds. This is an unusual occurrence in Phoenix at this time of year. I shot as many as I could stand until the heat was too much. There were several shots that I liked, and I will share more in the next few days. Perhaps tomorrow I will be in a more serene mood.

3 responses

  1. Aren’t the clouds rendered just so fantastic in IR? Can’t wait to see the other pix from this day. The cemetery is a great venue for IR as you have the plants along with the stone markers.

    June 26, 2014 at 2:30 PM

    • I love the clouds, they are so fantastic in IR!

      This particular cemetery was difficult because there were too many “objects” around it, like telephone wires and other man-made junk. It made planning more time-consuming than usual. There were a few that ended up with “stuff” in them, but some weren’t too bad.

      I was inspired by your cemetery photos, Robert. I hoped that I could even think about coming close in quality.

      June 26, 2014 at 3:16 PM

      • Thanks Jo,
        One of my fav cemetery spots has a lot of Brass and Bronze sculptures – being that Waterbury used to be The Brass City – in which the metals render differently from the vegetation and granite. Your shot today was great – I liked everything about it.

        June 26, 2014 at 4:32 PM