Making memorable images

Boy meets colt


Boy meets colt small

I thought I’d get away from the IR shots for today by posting this photo that I took of my riding partner as he made friends with a baby horse when we were out riding in the White Mountains a few weeks ago. The horses were “free range” horses, and were literally out in the middle of nowhere. I was delighted to find them, but they weren’t as happy to see me since I was also wearing full motorcycle gear. The difference was that I had left my helmet on, and I looked too scary for them to approach me. I was too busy with the camera anyway.

This was taken with my little point-and-shoot Canon, but I still felt it was a blog-worthy photo because it captures the “sweetness” of the moment. It was a fleeting moment, though, because after Hal slowly raised his hand to touch the soft muzzle of the colt, the baby whirled and trotted quickly over to his mother’s side. She was keeping a wary eye on the intruders (us), but she trusted us enough to let us come close.

2 responses

  1. I can just see “mom” keeping her eyes on you two 🙂

    August 12, 2014 at 4:32 AM

    • Yes, she was watching carefully. 🙂

      August 12, 2014 at 6:39 AM