Making memorable images

Endless rows, countless lives


Rows of headstones3228

As I shot these photos in the cemetery, it stung me to remember that each cold hard stone represents a life lived, a life lost. Sadly, it looks like some had been mostly forgotten. I wonder if the people had moved on from The City of the Dead, a place where, according to a novel I read once, you live until there is no longer anyone alive to remember you. Then you “move on.”

Only your imagination can tell you what that means.

2 responses

  1. A similar story can be found in the book “Sum – 40 Tales of the Afterlife” by David Eagleman
    Another good shot from this location.

    August 13, 2014 at 2:51 AM

    • Yes, I think that idea has been used many times, but that’s okay. If you give 10 people the same idea for a story, you will have 10 different interpretations. I enjoyed the book that I read, and I will check out the one you suggested, Robert. 🙂

      August 13, 2014 at 6:31 AM