Making memorable images

Dante’s View


Dante's View 0023 small

Dante’s View, on the north side of Coffin Peak, over Death Valley National Park in California, USA, is spectacular, and totally worth the somewhat long dirt bike ride I did to get there.

Dante’s View is at 5,476 feet in elevation, and by contrast, the floor of Death Valley, which is what we are looking at in the middle of the image, is sea level, or below. Badwater Basin is directly below the overlook, and it is at 282 feet below sea level. Quite a contrast in elevations and one that makes for a dramatic view.

I shot it in IR, and in color, and thought the color overshadowed the IR image. I have many more images from Death Valley, both IR and color, and I will share them with you over the coming days. I hope you will enjoy them!

5 responses

  1. Wow! It looks beautiful!

    March 11, 2015 at 9:55 PM

    • Thank you, Aarvind!

      March 11, 2015 at 10:00 PM

  2. Great start to what I hope is a new series from your recent trip. I love the impressionist feel to this image.

    March 12, 2015 at 4:11 AM

    • Thank you, Robert! I was excited about how it came out, too. 🙂

      March 12, 2015 at 7:22 AM