Making memorable images

A different kind of IR


Trees, rocks 590nm 4569

It seems the IR images I post are the most popular, so I am going to share with you my latest IR “toy.” I have had my first IR camera modified again to have the 590nm IR filter installed.

The images are quite a bit different from the other IR images I have been working with. As usual, there is a learning curve, but so far I am quite happy with the results. Of course, I shot my (and your) favorite subjects – trees and the forest – to see how the images compare. With spring so fervently bringing out the new leaves, I was delighted to find the vegetation so obliging!

I hope you will enjoy the images because I have a few to post over the next few days. 🙂

3 responses

  1. Interesting…I’m curious as to how they look in 100% B&W – how did you settle on this new filter? So I assume that the 590nm is cut off where nothing below it is imaged – more of the lower yellow-orage portion of the IR spectrum – yes?

    March 25, 2015 at 3:54 AM

    • Hmmm. I will try one in black and white and send it to you. I can send you how it looks right out of the camera as well – it looks copper, and green (the color of a copper patina after the copper has weathered). I chose it because I saw it when I researched IR and thought it was as interesting as the other filter, and good for shooting trees. Yes, more of the yellow-orange part. My 5D is still the usual filter, so I have both available.

      March 25, 2015 at 6:34 AM

      • Thanks…I have just upgraded to a FX (D800) camera and may retire my old D80 to be an additional IR camera.

        March 25, 2015 at 8:47 AM